What on earth is a Mooncup?


At work, a help line for 13-19 year old, we tend to get asked all sorts of random questions. Sometimes we have no clue what these young people are talking about and need to look it up or with some luck it may be in our list of previously asked random questions. One such question on this list was What is a Mooncup?

Taken from the Mooncup website

The Mooncup is a reusable menstrual cup, around two inches long and made from soft medical grade silicone. It is worn internally a lot lower than a tampon but, while tampons and pads absorb menstrual fluid, the Mooncup collects it. This means it doesn’t cause dryness or irritation, and also that it collects far more (three times as much as a ‘super-absorbent’ tampon’!). Because the Mooncup is reusable, you only need one so it saves you money and helps the environment, too.

Now it’s a bit quiet at work at the mo, so the answer to this question was discussed in detail by the group of people I was sat working with. All of whom, including me, said Eww when we found out what it was…Except Dawn who found the website and told us all a bit more about this cup that sits inside the Vagina and collects, not absorbs, menstrual fluid…Now you see where the Eww comes in. Keep reading though darling, there is more to it!

This silicone “cup” is more environmentally friendly, the website claims, as it is reusable (More Eww sounds from the team and me!). You buy it once so it’s cheaper than other forms of sanitary products…yeah ok I started listening here.

While the topic of conversation changed around the team I carried on looking at the website for Mooncup (Much to the amusement of my team mates)

Anything that saves me money whilst doing my bit to protect this beautiful awe-inspiring planet we live on gets my vote…but could I actually do this? It’s gross right? It would be messy, uncomfortable …maybe even painful? and …Eww!

Now Mooncup say this about the environmental impact:

On average, one woman will use over 11,000 tampons or pads in their lifetime, which will end up in landfill or in the sea.

I have had a look online very briefly and can’t actually find a lot of reliable unbiased statistics. The BBC in 2007 said that 10.6% of household waste are sanitary products such as tampons and towels. I also read that the Tampons could last around 20 years in a landfill while the plastic bit on a towel could last forever.

I have other reasons for considering the big switch. Before I had children I would swear by Tampons, never used anything else as I disliked pads. I love swimming, so pads were useless, I wore skimpy clothes sometimes without underwear and so tampons worked for me. After I had the girls they became uncomfortable. Sometimes I could feel them when moving around, they were often painful when I was sitting down and be painful when I removed them especially at the end of my cycle. So, I ended up just wearing Towels.

They came with their own downside. I disliked putting them in the bathroom bin and Big beautiful finding them as I feel she is too young to have that conversation (4 years old), The hoarder disliked the wrapping that seamed to find it’s way out of the bin or I would forget to put it in there (00pse) and then there was also the mess and the uncomfort and the feeling I was wearing a nappy…Eww Eww Eww!

I put up with it because I am a women, I have to use something and I respect my cycle, I’m proud of it (despite my PMT)…this gave me two beautiful children and stands me apart from men (who have their own unique bodily functions!).

The more I read the website the more I considered trying it. What also put me off is the fact that in Boots it’s over 20.00 to buy, much less direct from the website, it’s a lot to pay for something that might hurt, or be so disgusting I never want to look at it again.

However, what if it was exactly what  needed? What if it worked? Think of the money I would save and the great feeling of actually having made a slight difference to that 10.6% of sanitary waste going to a landfill for my daughters to deal with.

So of course I bought one…Today in fact.

Size of a Mooncup taken from website

It’s actually much smaller than I thought it would be. There are two sizes…quick go check which one you are http://www.mooncup.co.uk/about-the-mooncup/which-size.html

At first I thought I had got it right first time and was very proud of myself. Then I realised that the “Stem” needed to be much shorter, so I found I was able to cut this off as it’s designed so that it fits all women and you can tailor it to fit you perfectly. After this I went to check it one more time and found that this is actually not as gross as I thought it would be. There is a nack to getting it in and out (sorry but I will let the website and the instruction leaflet go there for you) but once I figured that out I am, so far, over the moon (cup) with it!!!!!!

NO leaks, No uncomfort, Nope I can’t even feel it!!!! When I told the Hoarder about it he kind of had the same look on his face that I did when Dawn was talking about this at work…then he came out with:

“The more I think about it, the more I don’t like it.  I keep imagining a big cavern (Thanks dear!) with a little person running about holding a bucket catching all the drips.”

So after I stopped laughing, I beat him with his hoards of wood in the garden and told him that was going in my blog!

Seriously though it’s not for everyone, I get that, it wasn’t for me either…but think about it. No mess, no monthly cost, no carting about sanitary pads n tampons on holiday (did I mentions it comes in a cute little bag?) No dryness at the end of the cycle that feels like your ripping out skin, no guilt over your contribution to the landfills.

I am yet to go swimming wearing it, or my Zumba and Spinning class, but I will be happy to let you know how that goes and will probably be telling everyone on Twitter (@Mummy_Ethal) anyway. So do feel free to ask me questions and I will answer them as honestly as my blushes allow x x x.

I am not promoting this for any other reason that I think it is good. I searched and searched for a review that did not sound as though it was from the company and all the testimonials and reviews just sounded a bit like an advert.

Go find out for yourself. Do the research, ask around. The links to the website are on here, I’m putting  a link on my blog too as I do believe in this product. Try to find your own statistics and make your own mind up.

 

Happy days x x

 

30 thoughts on “What on earth is a Mooncup?

  1. Well, I had never heard of it before! Not sure it’s for me, but like you, I do resent the cost of products. Interested to see how you get on swimming xx

  2. love mine. cheap. comfortable. non leaking. safe. you can put it in when you’re due just in case. eco friendly.
    in fact, I’d never go back to tampons. people are squeamish about mooncups. tampons are much more disgusting when you get used to how clean the mooncup is.

    and as a rather old school sort of a Witch, it’s rather useful to collect it.
    if you know what I mean.
    it has powerful protective qualities.

    • Hi thanks for reading. I must admit I am a convert. can’t imagine going back to anything else.

      I can see how it would have strong protective qualities. Our reproductive system are quite spectacular. I do feel more connected to my body and femininity.

  3. I have had mine for 5 years, love it, will never turn back, you can sleep with it in, do yoga with it (no inverted poses) and swim with no problems, it is the best things since sliced bread…. possibly better!

  4. Mooncup (the company) posted this on Facebook today so I came to take a look. And now I’m smiling. Not only at the hoarder’s wonderful description but also because I initially had the same reaction. But two years on, I wouldn’t go back using tampons or pads or anything, actually, that wasn’t the Mooncup. (There are other makes of what is, essentially, the same thing so shop around on price on the net if you want another one, as a spare for example.)

    You may also find, as I did, that you don’t suffer as much from cramps and, personally, I found my periods got shorter too – always a bonus. I guess that that’s basic gravity and common sense though, if you think about it! :o)

    Best of luck with it.

  5. Hi, I’ve had one for two years now and it’s great! (And, no, I’m not a Mooncup employee!) It’s fine to go swimming in and all other forms of exercise, in fact once you’ve got it in and don’t have too heavy flow, you can leave it in all day and deal with it in the shower in the evening. No reason why anyone can’t use one and it’s no more ewwww than any other san product, just takes a little while to get used to.

  6. I’ve been using a Mooncup for 6 years now, and I will never use anything else! I love it! It did take a few cycles to get used to it’s fiddliness and for my flow to get used to the suction (I find it speeds things up, also reducing cramps from the uterus, but not cervical cramps which I still sometimes get…ouch!), but, except after childbirth, I haven’t used ny pads or tampons. I, too, found tampons became very scratchy after the birth of my first child. It felt disgusting putting them in and even moreso to remove them…and if one shifted during the day: total discomfort! The cup stays in place, rarely leaks, holds way more than a pad or tampon could ever dream of holding, and they are so much healthier! I’m so glad I found it when I did! The menstrual cup is amazing!

    • Thanks for reading. There are so many women out there like us who find tampons painful. I wonder why I never find this before! Unless I did and was not ready for it then. I am going to give Zumba a go today lots of jumping and wiggling around should be test enough lol.

  7. PS: it is great no matter what activity you’re doing! Swimming, yoga, horse riding…whatever you wanna do, do it! (other than sex…lol)

  8. I own and use a Mooncup. The reason why all the comments sound like adverts? Because the product genuinely works as it says it will and it revolutionises the way a woman deals with her period. I wish I’d found this product years ago.

  9. Swimming with Mooncup is not a problem at all…nothing is! I had the same “eew” reaction to the idea of it when a friend told me about it. In fact it took me around 2 years to buy one after hearing about it. I wish I had bought it earlier! as other people have said, tampons seem WAY more disgusting after you use Mooncup! Tampons suck the moisture out of you and are often bleached- drying out and leaving chemicals in your ladygarden–now that is “eeew!”…not to mention that fact that billions of them end up in landfills and the cost of all those disposable sanitary products! I really think that (before trying it) we only feel that this is a gross idea (and that tampons are ok) because that is what we have grown up with. When you actually rationalise it, Mooncup makes so much more sense! If I have a daughter I will definitely present her with the option of a Mooncup. As was mentioned Mooncup takes some getting used to to learn how to use it, but so do tampons when you first start using them! Thanks for sharing, I really enjoyed the blog!

  10. Yep, had mine since 2005 and still looks in great condition! I swear by it too – fantastic for travelling with. I hope my daughter will consider one now she’s 19, the years I have had to put up with her wrapped pads in my bathroom bin!

  11. I too originally thought it would be ‘eww’ but tried one after talking to a girlfriend about hers – and yes I too am now a total convert and mooncup evangelist. It took a couple of months to get used to it but now it’s easy peasy. Aside from the eco and financial benefits, I used to get all sorts of ‘irritating’ issues with tampons and pads but not with the mooncup. I’ve never heard or seen anyone saying they tried a mooncup and didn’t like it! It’s funny really how people (including myself at first) have this squeamish reaction to a mooncup, but they don’t have the same reaction to a contraceptive cap or diaphragm which is exactly the same idea – I think it is because we are conditioned to think menstruating is ‘dirty’ when really it’s not.

  12. Love my Moon Cup. Had it for years now. I do spinning, circuit training and body combat with no problems. I think it’s a sad illustration of how women are made to feel about our bodies and our own bodily fluids when people, including the women themselves are feeling so disgusted about the idea of a moon cup. Condoms collect semen – is that disgusting? It seems that what comes out of men’s bodies is fine, or maybe even a bit funny (‘spunk’ ‘wet dreams’ – snigger snigger), but what comes out of women’s bodies is dirty and disgusting. One of the reasons a moon cup is so great is because it makes you become more familiar and accepting of your body and what it does.

    • Thank you for taking the time to read my post and to comment. I could not agree more! I am currently on month 3 of using my Mooncup and could not imagine using anything else now. I am more aware than ever about my own natural rhythm and look forward to using it… i look forward to my period because i feel closer to myself. I feel more in control of my emotions which have been detrimental to me in the past. I also look forward to sharing this knowledge with my daughters.

      Thank you again for commenting and sharing this experience with me x x
      Emma x

  13. I had exactly the same problems with tampons after I had Emily and that was when I bit the bullet and decided to try the Mooncup. Haven’t looked back, it’s just so comfortable. My only issue with it is cleaning it out in public toilets!

  14. I had exactly the same problems with tampons after I had Emily and that was when I bit the bullet and decided to try the Mooncup. Haven’t looked back, it’s just so comfortable. My only issue with it is cleaning it out in public toilets!

    • Hi thanks for reading. I know what u mean about public toilets. Some have suggested raking a bottle of water in the cubicle, this presents other issues though, such as what u do if you have quite a heavy flow…gotta be quick lol. I usually have tissues with me n give it a wipe then clean it properly when I can. Fortunately I have only had to do this once.

      Would love to know how other women manage.

Leave a Reply

